Search loading

Twitter logo Twitter

How do I delete/close my Twitter account?

1.Sign in to twitter.com on the web.

2.Go to your Account settings and click on Deactivate my account at the bottom of the page.

3.Read the account deactivation information. Click Okay, fine, deactivate account.

4.Enter your password when prompted and verify that you want to deactivate your account.

Notice:

Before you deactivate your account, you should know:

-Twitter only retain your user data for 30 days from the date of deactivation, after which it is permanently deleted.

-You may reactivate your account at any time during these 30 days by logging in.

-You do not need to deactivate your account to change your username or email address; you can change it at any time in your account settings.

-To use a username or email address on another account, you must first change them and then confirm the change prior to deactivation. (See below for instructions.)

-Twitter do not control content indexed by search engines like Google or Bing.

-After deactivation, your account should be removed within a few minutes, however some content may be viewable on twitter.com for a few days.